Ottawa Catholic School Board returns Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson

posted Dec 6, 2017, 4:47 AM by Holy Trinity Catholic High School
Ottawa - The Ottawa Catholic School Board has returned Trustee Elaine McMahon as Chairperson and Trustee Joanne MacEwan as Vice-Chairperson. The elections took place at the Board’s Annual General Meeting held Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at the Catholic Education Centre.

Elaine McMahon is the Trustee for Zone 6 – Knoxdale-Merivale/College. Ms. McMahon has served as a trustee since 2014 and was first elected Chairperson in December 2014. Joanne MacEwan is the Trustee for Beacon Hill-Cyrville/Innes and was appointed trustee in 2012, elected trustee in 2014, and became Vice-Chairperson in 2016.

 “The Board strives to ensure the Gospel Values are alive in each and every one of our schools. Our staff works hard to create an equitable environment for all while ensuring that each student’s journey through our schools prepares them to be faith-filled citizens of the world.  I would like to thank my fellow trustees for their harmonious support and I will do my best as we work together in the coming year.”

  • OCSB Chairperson Elaine McMahon

The Most Rev. Christian Riesbeck, CC, V.G. presided over a Mass with co-celebrant Board Chaplain Peter Sanders. The OCSB 75-voice Children’s Choir sang O Canada and two other selections.

Denise Andre, Director of Education presented the 2017 Director’s Annual Report, which can be found at The report highlights the accomplishments of the Board over the past year. Focused on the Board’s Priorities, Multi-Year Strategic Plan, and Deep Learning Framework, the report illustrates how students are gaining global competencies through a faith-filled lens.

“I am very proud of our Board and our many accomplishments, thanks to the work of our dedicated staff, engaged parents and inspiring students.  We are blessed to have a supportive Board of Trustees who effectively govern, ensuring that every student has the opportunity to reach their God-given potential.”

  • Denise Andre, Director of Education

For more information, please contact Mardi de Kemp, Manager of Communications, by phone at 613-224-4455 Ext 2326 or by email at